Does the world really need another food blog?

Yes!  I am in the midst of working on my dissertation (which is about food in Cuba) and one of the ways that I relieve stress and vary my daily activities is to cook!  I absolutely love cooking and eating.  I try to make healthier meals and will often healthify recipes that I get from other places.  For me, this blog is a place where I can track the meals that I have made, the changes to recipes that have been successful, and all the fun photos of the process.

Basically I try to take in all of the food news and healthy eating recommendations that are out there, see how people are living and then I decide what I can and cant do. I mostly live like a normal average middle-to-working class american. I try to eat healthy locally grown organic foods, but I also eat hot dogs and sometimes I buy bottled water when I am out running errands and get thirsty (and sometimes I even throw away the bottle). I try to be aware and be conscious of what I COULD do to make the world a better place and to live a healthier life but sometimes I decide that I just want to do what is easier. I frankly I dont think I could afford to be the perfect healthy eco-friendly consumer. I try not to force my opinions on anyone–being super hardcore and forcing things on people is never going to work well, people need to be able to make up their own minds, but they need the facts from all perspectives.  I hope that at least some of these blog post will allow me to share my daily process of feeling out the balance between doing the best thing for my health and for the earth and doing what I can afford and have time for.

Leave a Reply

