Homemade Jalapeño Poppers

I absolutely love jalapeño poppers, but I feel so guilty whenever I eat them because they’re usually deep fried and come in a box or through the drivethru window.  These homemade poppers have a really different taste from the processed version, the peppers are crisper and there is a fresh taste to them.  I modifed Emeril Lagasse’s baked jalapeño poppers, I think I could still do a lot of experiementing with this to get the process a little more streamlined, but they were still very yummy.

I made a huge batch so that I could freeze them and just heat them up as I want them, you might want to cut this recipe in half.

To make 48 poppers, you’ll need:

24 large jalapeno peppers, stemmed, seeded and halved lengthwise

12 oz cream cheese at room temp

3 cups grated Wisconsin cheddar cheese

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 teaspoon cayenne

4  large eggs

4 Tablespoons milk

1 teaspoon paprika

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon pepper

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon oregano

1 teaspoon thyme

4 cups breadcrumbs

1 cup all-purpose flour

After preparing the peppers preheat the oven to 350, and grease a baking sheet for the poppers.

Leave a Reply

