High Protein Breakfast with Almond Flour Pancakes

A friend of mine recently moved from LA to the east coast, before she left she gave us a bunch of pantry items including a half full bag of almond meal.  For months I have had no idea what to do with this almond meal and then it dawned on me that my mom–who is gluten intolerant used to make pancakes out of almond meal.  It is actually the perfect breakfast meal for anyone trying to avoid carbs and get in more protein.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 Tablespoon Agave Nectar
  • 2 Tablespoons of oil for cooking

Stir together all of the ingredients until the almond meal is wet and there are no dry clumps.

Heat the oil in a cast iron or non-stick pan and pour  about 1/4 cup of the batter per pancake.  I could fit about 3 on my pan at a time.  This recipe made about 12, so cook in four batches. After about five minutes or once you see the edges start to brown flip and cook on the other side for 3-5 minutes.

I am estimating that about three of these babies with maple syrup is about 400-500 calories depending on how much syrup you use.  They also have about 28 grams of protein for three of them, which is huge for a breakfast food.  If you serve this with a soy sausage patty and an egg it will be a really protein packed meal.  We usually eat Morning Star Veggies Sausage Patties which have about 10 g of protein and one egg has about 6g.  So this meal has about 44g of protein, but it also packs in about 600 or 700 calories. My trainer tells me that for my body and activity level I should be getting about 120g of lean protein per day, so with this breakfast I am well on my way!

One thought on “High Protein Breakfast with Almond Flour Pancakes

Leave a Reply

