6 weeks @ 1200 calories

My partner and I have a recurring situation that we dont see eye-to-eye about (a round about way of saying argument).  You see, my partner is always on a 1200 calorie diet, and she gets frustrated with me when I am always whipping up all kinds of meals and desserts and making her try them.  I try to eat well but am really never dieting . . .and I probably eat 2-3 meals a week that are 1200 calories alone!  A 1200 calorie diet sounds awful to me, its not that I dont like salads and fish but I hate eating the same thing over and over and over again.  The worst part is that I cant just whip up random things in the kitchen because I dont know how many calories they are. . .and most of what I make has butter in it so you know its probably more than 400 cals a meal right there.

So the short of it is that we recently won a cruise. . .an Olivia cruise that leaves on Oct 29th, and I have agreed to do a 1200 calorie diet everyday for the six weeks up to the cruise.  She really wants to see how many pounds she can shed and I want to see if I have the will power to go 6 whole weeks eating only 1200 cals a day.  Its going to be a challenge, but I am going to document everything here–even when I cheat, which I will certainly do!  At the end of six weeks I will let you know if I lost any weight and I will document the 7th week cruise induced binge eating as well.  Check out this site on why 1200 cals a day works and why it might not, and another site with a simple menu plan here, and some tips from Livestrong.

Comments welcome. . .let me know what you think!

3 thoughts on “6 weeks @ 1200 calories

Leave a Reply

