Our First CSA Pick-up (May be the Last)

I have been toying with joining a CSA since I moved to LA, but every time I look into it it seems nearly impossible to actually achieve.  The CSAs here have pick up spots throughout the city during the week, most of the pick up days and times are during the day during the work week, so if you actually have a job (or share a car with your partner who has a job) its really really hard to pick the box up.  I finally decided that I just had to sign up and then I would figure out the transport details.  I signed up for a CSA that will go unnamed which only has one weekend pickup and its in one of the busiest, most traffic filled parts of LA.

So when we went to pick up on Sunday, the window was from 12-1– not sure why the window has to be so short, but I left our house at 11:30 and we made it there at 12:40.  We were the second to last people to pick up so we got the worst of the batch, small fruit, wilted lettuce and they’d run out of one thing because they miscounted.  Our box was really really disappointing, it was very little food for $25.00.  I forgot to take a picture, but it included 4 apples, 2 onions, 1 bunch of celery, 4 medium carrots, 1 acorn squash, a wilted head of romaine lettuce, an asian sweet potato, Brussels sprouts, and some green beans.  All items that are available at any area farmers market and better quality for a lower price and less hassle (you can go to a farmers market somewhere in LA pretty much every waking moment of the week).

I’m giving the CSA one more week and if its not drastically better that will be my last LA CSA pick up!

Leave a Reply

