Backyard Chickens

Ever since we moved to this property and our lovely 85 year old neighbor had free range hens and a rooster, it has been on in the back of my mind that I wanted to get our own chickens.  Our area allows for chickens so long as they are kept a certain distance from each neighbor’s dwelling.  By keeping them in our front yard we will be within regulations.   I began our process of getting chickens with the coop.  I had seen various plans to build your own DIY coop.  I spoke with the lovely folks at our local urban homesteading shop Kings Roost, and decided it would be better to buy a prefab coop and reinforce it myself with extra chicken wire to keep the critters out.  Here’s the coop we decided on:

Leave a Reply

