4th of July Burgers 


Growing up in Wisconsin our 4th of July celebrations almost always meant grilling out at the park or in our back yard. The smell of grill smoke is part of my memories of summer days with family and friends. 

As a kid I never really liked the burgers my parents made. My dad made a meatloaf style burger and likes his burgers very thick. He would add onion, egg, and crackers to the meat and roll up a thick 1/3 lb burger.  I would often choose a hotdog over a burger. 

A few years ago I discovered this homemade Umami burger recipe and ever since then I have loved grilling my own burgers. Here’s our adaptation for four 1/4 lb burgers:

1lb lean ground beef

1 Tablespoons Fish Sauce

2 cloves Crushed garlic 

1 teaspoon Sugar

1/2 teaspoon white pepper

Mix it all together by hand, let sit at least 30 mins. Shape into four patties. Grill at 400 degrees for about five mins on each side depending on the thickness and desired doneness. 

Leave a Reply

